8 years on

Imagine waking up and having a condition which requires you to eat sweets when you’re low – doesn’t that sound AMAZING?!

But what you don’t see is the blurry vision,the weak shake feeling and the cold sweats that come along with it.

Today is my 8th diaversary and I always get mixed emotions on this day. 8 years ago I was sat in a hospital room with my parents and was given the diagnosis of Type 1 Diabetes. Not knowing anything at this point apart from it was different to Type 2 diabetes, and there was no cure. Not something you expect to here at 12 years old.

My journey has been a roller coaster of highs and lows – much like the blood sugars of every Type 1 diabetic on a daily basis.

Type 1 diabetes isn’t simple to manage as having the same routine and eating the same food can still vary your blood sugar levels and insulin requirements by the day… and we have to work out the maths and requirements ourselves – I should have a degree in Maths by now!

After struggling to control my diabetes with exam stress, throughout my GCSE’s and A Levels, I have managed to take back my diabetes and turn it into something that I’m proud to live with. I love raising awareness through speaking at events, to volunteering on Type 1 camps, and even running my little blog. All of which i couldn’t have done without the support from my parents and sister and my diabetes teams throughout my 8 years.

Type 1 diabetes has given me opportunities that I would have never have dreamed of having, like meeting the Prime Minister Theresa May and HRH The Duchess of Cornwall and speaking on the BBC. But one of the best parts about living with Type 1 is the amazing friends Ive met along the way.

So thank you rubbish pancreas because although I have to put in a hell of a lot of effort to mimic you there are a few positive things that make it worth it.

Lots of love The Backpacker and the Pod xxx

Leave a Reply

